In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain countries experience a staggering inequality condition in wages. While some believe it is good for the economic condition of those countries, some others think that the government need to formulate a policy to reduce the income gap between citizens. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and put foward my own argument in this issue. People in the supportive side argue that inequality in salaries is a result of market for presenting an incentive for people to be more productive. In other words, person’s salary reflected their contribution towards economic productivity as a whole. For example, a doctor is justified to be paid more rather than other type of job since their contribution towards society health condition is important, thus need to be paid higher. On the other hand, people that refuse this perspective argue that the extreme inequality of income could lead to a condition where most people could not get access to the service they need. It could also ignite social unrest and making the economic condition worsen. For instance, Indonesia had experienced social calamity in 1998 when the inequality and the prices of basic necessities rose, while conversely the income had plummeted because the unemployment. I argue a middle ground between these two extremes is the ideal option. The government need to ensure that every citizens can receive their basic needs while also ensuring the inequality of income is in an acceptable level to maintain the incentive factor. This measurement could be done by formulating welfare programs and create the condition for competition of wages is not interrupted by other factors than market, such as collusion, corruption, cartel. etc. With these kind of intervention, the inequality should not be a problem and could be ways to increase people ’s productivity overall. In conclusion, extreme inequality of wages is not a good thing since it could encourage social unrest and blocking people ’s access for better services. But, the income gap is still needed to encourage people to be more productive in economic terms as an incentive mechanism. So, I believe the middle ground is the best option for a society to prosper more, with the enactment of social programs for those who needed and ensuring the market to run properly without distortion.