In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

In many countries, the young generation neglects their voting rights. This causes problems such as young people cannot develop their political awareness, and their specific needs are not fulfilled. To solve this issue, the government should concentrate on addressing the problems faced by young people, and political parties should create political awareness among the young people. If young people neglect their right to vote, they cannot develop their political awareness. They cannot develop them as responsible citizens who are aware of their rights and responsibilities. Moreover, the specific needs of young people will not be fulfilled if they neglect their voting rights. They cannot demand their specific needs such as education and employment opportunities, safety and financial allowences allowance if they do not apply their votes. For example, around 45% of voters in Bangladesh are young people, and in 2019 National Election, they demanded their rights for free education until higher secondary school from the new elected government. To solve this issue, political parties should create political awareness among the young people. They should encourage the young generation to apply their right to vote by saying that it will help to bring out future leaders from them. Furthermore, the elected government should focus on the problems of young people. If they do so, young people will believe that it is beneficial for them to apply their voting rights because their needs will be fulfilled by their elected government. For instance, in India, in 2020, before election, one political party promised to solve the issue of substance abuse among young people, which encouraged young people to vote their favourite candidates in the election. In conclusion, young people cannot develop their political awareness and their specific needs will not not addressed by the government if they do not vote. To solve this problem, political parties should create political awareness among the young generation, and the government should address the needs of young people after they become elected.