Question: Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Space exploration sparks debate nowadays as there are different views on this topic. In this essay, I will consider both perspectives and outline why I think that this research is not as crucial as some individuals think. To start with, the advocates of outer space exploration argue about the necessity to search for alternative sources of energy outside our planet. Thus, they believe that examining new stars will help humanity to exploit other resources when ours will meet their end. Moreover, such technological development can boost current technologies to alleviate the pressing issues of the modern societies. For example, telecommunication was introduced to our daily routine by implementing more cutting-edge satellites. On the other hand, cosmic expeditions bring about new challenges to many communities. Firstly, they pollute environment by emitting more greenhouse gases when launching a spacecraft. Not only atmosphere suffers, but also oceans, as all by-products litter its waters. Additionally, more knowledge about cosmos will not save humanity immediately. These is a host of issues which should be solved by traditional measures rather than other planets’ exploration. As an illustration, I cannot imagine how these expeditions can contribute to the famine fighting on African countries. From my perspective, it is necessary to focus on the problems of the Earth to ensure the prosperity of our society. I suppose that primary goal is to conserve our home-planet before sending astronauts to conquer others. In conclusion, even though some people claim it is vital to search for outer space opportunities because of resources` prospects and humankind development, I would disagree with them. I firmly believe that the national budgets should be allocated to more important problems, and, furthermore, spacecrafts` construction and launching harms our nature.