It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying that educators are supposed to lay great emphasis on teaching the younger generation to distinguish the right from the wrong when they are still kids. Some hold the view that punishment plays a significant role in this process, with which I partly agree. On one hand, I agree that punishing children is a crucial way for parents and teachers to cultivate the ability to tell right from wrong, since it could serve as a deterrent. On the other hand, I argue that they should be flexible while applying this approach. To be more specific, characters and mindset vary from child to child, which consequently asks educators to change their teaching methods according to children’s personality and ages. Those in their puberty is a good case in point. As is known to all, adolescents in this period tend to be rebellious because of hormone and that is why parents’ and teachers’ excessive punishment is likely to have the opposite effect. In this respect, it is advisable for educators to adopt proper and moderate punishment. Making the punishment fit the crime is a conducive way due to the fact it would not only tell children the inadequacies of their behaviors but also lead to better deeds in years to come. To exemplify, provided that a kid drops rubbish in the street, parents and teachers should let he or she pick up it and also apologize to those they he or she may interrupt, which would also be helpful in developing children’s responsibilities. To recapitulate, I do not deny that punishing children is a beneficial teaching method and nevertheless, I assert that it ought to be flexible and modest. Personally speaking, making the punishment according to the crime would yield benefits for younger adults.