In recent years, “responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, benefitted from the advancement of transportation, people are able to travel around the world wherever and whenever they want. However, this also brings some controversial discussions on whether the travellers should all be responsible for the preservation of Indigenous culture and environment. In contrast to those who argue that this "responsible tourist" campaign is impractical to achieve, I believe that it should be promoted as its merits outweigh its downsides. Here are some key reasons why we should all be accounted for this global matter. First and foremost, being a "responsible tourist" is of great benefit to the local community. There are many live examples around the world, showcasing how responsible tourism positively impacts on travel destinations. Taking China for example, many rural areas in the West were developed and able to thrive because of the funding brought by tourism. The indigenous culture and languages were also supported, as it enabled more exposure to them on the internet. At the same time, awareness is raised towards environmental protection in these places of interest to ensure more individuals can enjoy the sceneries. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that "responsible tourism " should be advocated. However, this is not to say that such a tourism mode does not have any drawbacks. This is because it is impossible for travellers to leave no carbon footprints behind during their trips. The increase in visitors will inevitably raise the demand for transportation. This ultimately has a negative impact on the environment, as more vehicles mean more air pollution. Hence, it is vital to consider the side effects triggered by the tourists. In summary, it is undeniable that "responsible tourism " has some positive impacts on tourist hotspots, which helps them grow economically while protecting their cultural norms and environment. Yet, we shall also recognise the unavoidable issues created by tourism to ensure the sustainable development of these travel destinations. As far as I am concerned, we should harness a balanced approach to ensure the local communities are considerately preserved and people are choosing greener means of travelling.