It could be argued that technology makes our lives easier and simpler. But there are certainly people who feel life has become more complicated due to modern inventions. Which opinion do you agree with? In your essay, include supporting details.

The use of electronic devices has greatly increased the accessibility and simplicity of numerous things. However, it can also be argued that a certain group of people also feel that certain aspects of life have been overcomplicated due to the rise of technological use. In my opinion, I agree that although certain life aspects are more accessible, in general, technology has made life more complex and cumbersome. This is because the use of technology assumes that everyone possesses an electronic device, which is a great assumption since not everyone may have the means to purchase one. Also, complex abstractions take time to learn, and especially for those unfamiliar, for example the older generation, it can be an arduous process to onboard to. Not everyone can own an electronic device such as a personal computer or a smartphone, which greatly limits the things they can do in such a technological driven environment, where payments are made electronically and registrations for appointments are made online. This can be caused by a myriad of factors, but the most prominent one is obviously economic and social factors. For example, people from low economic classes may not have the priviledge of owning smartphones, thus limiting them from paying at stores that don't accept cash as a payment option. It can also be the case that certain age groups may not be exposed to having such devices, thus limiting their mobility and flexibility in travelling around. Other than that, these electronic devices come with dozens of applications which can be overwhelming and difficult to learn how to use, possibly requiring external assistance for people from older generations. Certain applications that are used for mobile banking and transportation can be difficult to set up, even for technologically savvy people from the younger generation. This barrier of entry can cause issues and add unnecessary complexity to what should be easily accessible things, such as registration for doctor appointments, making reservations, ordering from a restaurant, among other things. In conclusion, I believe that more often than not, technology has a way of overcomplicating things rather than simplifying them. This is because there barriers to entry to accessing the positive fruits of technology, which are technological ownership and understanding of its platforms.