Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that professionals, like doctors and engineers must work in the country where they got trained. Meanwhile, others think they must have a choice to work in another country if they want to. A government has power to employ trained professionals to one of its departments and make them stay, but cannot force them. In my opinion, educated experts should have their own choice to whether they should work for their own nation or for a foreign nation. Clearly, a government might want to keep its trained professionals as they can have a better contribution to public and private services within the country. But, the government also cannot force these people to stay and should give them a choice. By keeping the experts, the authority can have opportunity to improve its healthcare, education and infrastructural services as well as maintain them, leading to better usage of the tax money. For instance, if the authority recruits a well-educated doctor, it can increase the quality of healthcare or if they recruit a well-educated engineer for road construction, this can lead to better quality roads. However, I think it is important to allow these professionals to decide whether they will work in the country or abroad, because they have a right to make their own choices. Some experts go overseas in order to have a better expertise in their own field. Even though, some of them return back to implement their knowledge in their own country, some stay which triggers the authorities as they have lost someone with a high status. Usually, when professionals make a decision on this topic they consider many factors, like a doctor might consider a higher salary, or an engineer would like to take part in major projects such as the construction of bridges or tunnels. In conclusion, although a government can control whether trained experts can leave abroad, it is better to allow them to make the last decision. Sure, this can make government loose people which are important for country’s development, but this doesn’t mean these people will never return back and indeed some do, after completing their job abroad. Only thing we can do is guiding and recommending them on their future path.