The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Different types of transportation should be recommended and global rules have to be introduced to control the car ownership and usage. It is indeed known that governments can encourage different forms of transport and international organizations can introduce laws to reduce car ownership and usage. I do agree with this view, because due to cars cities have become congested resulting in traffic and they make cities noisy. But it is important to acknowledge that people should still have a choice to use their car. Currently because of many cars on the road, traffic issues in urban areas have become common. In most cases, congestion in an urban area leads to stress problems and anger issues in residents affecting their phycological health. Due to congestion cities become really noisy and most people arrive late at their destination. So, it is important for the city authority to introduce new alternatives for its people to reduce congestion and improve public health of people. For example, by creating bus and cycling lanes as well as construction of a new metro and tram lines can help reduce traffic. Furthermore, by referring to the issues above and acknowledging that cars in cities cause air pollution due to release of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and methane, it would be better for international organizations to limit car usage and ownership to some extent, without taking away their full rights and giving suitable options. Limiting the car usage ownership could be done through creating public transportation opportunities and implementing ‘zero emission’ policies in urban areas around the world. However, organizations should understand that cars are needed in some cases, for instance in transportation of goods. In conclusion, by understanding the negative impacts of cars in cities, authorities should take immediate action to solve them. Everyone would like to live in a city which values them by providing extensive transport opportunities and moving them away from car dependency. Cities designed for people should be an example and they should be future of every urban area around the world.