Weddings are more expensive in many countries present and past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays weddings cost more than what they used to in many parts of the world. A plausible cause of this might be the higher number of guests that are invited to such occasions. Another reason could be the result of inflation, causing prices for organising a wedding to accumulate to much higher amounts than previously expected. This is seen as a negative development, as economic hurdles play a significant role in deciding to start a family, and has potentially been a catalyst towards the downturn of multiple countries' population in recent decades. An increasing amount of friends and family members attending marriage ceremonies places a burden on the bride and groom to facilitate financially. As past events might have been more intimate and focused on direct kin, the priority now has shifted to create glamorous parties to celebrate with a much larger group of attendees. This evolution in mindset has expanded the once smaller budget to have to accomodate such adjustments, reflecting a trend leading to higher expenditure. Escalating value of goods over recent years emerges as a prominent reason leading to hiked prices to stage wedding events. Taking into account the rise of money spent on food and drinks, alongside potentially soaring venue charges, it should come as no surprise as to why weddings are more expensive recently across many countries. As gas and transportation fees continue to climb, pressure on supply chain services puts an added downhill effect towards products that are purchased by the consumer, putting added pressure on the couples' bottom line calculations. To sum up, planning and executing a wedding is more costly because of two main reasons, the incrementing amount of guests invited, as well as surging prices affecting the cost of goods. I believe that this is an unfavorable situation as it may lead to delays the in marriage itself or cancellation of the event.