Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, people watch a lot of international dramas and movies as it is easily available on different platforms. However, this trend has sparked a debate and a few people argue that it is a favourable trend, while others say that communities must produce their own content. This essay will delve into both the aspects, followed by my viewpoint. To begin with, those who favour the former trend assert that it is a good way to know about foreign place's culture and traditions. Indeed, by watching multi-national plays, an individual gets not only a better understanding but also gets an insight to other's customs and traditions. For example, by watching Bruce Lee's movies people got inclined towards learn Karate. Thus, if a nation imports content, it gives their citizens a chance to know and understand foreigners customs and beliefs in a better way. On the other hand, those who think that latter view is better opine that by producing personal shows local art and culture flourishes, which is essential for the society because this age-old culture guides us in tough times. Moreover, this practice will also protect local art and craftmanship because this will give local artists an opportunity to showcase their talent. To illustrate, China has imposed a ban on importing international dramas, as they do not want their local culture to be adulterated. Hence, nations must always look to produce their own content so that the local audience could easily connect themselves with the shows. In my viewpoint, I have a balanced view on this because both the aspects holds equal grounds and it is difficult to favour one over the other. As a multi-lingual exposure is essential these days, but at the same time, it is also important to promote local cinema and protect own culture. In conclusion, people must have some knowledge of other nation's customs and cultures but the local content should also be promoted and protected.