In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, parents give the vision to their children that anything is achievable, if they try hard enough. They claim that, hard-working is a key action in everyones’ success story. However, there are some pros and cons to having this view. In this essay, I will discuss some of the points and try to draw a conclusion. Let’s start by looking at the advantages. Some believes that if parents encourage their children to be more ambitious and try their best, success will be unavoidable. They claim that, the pathway only works when their son or daughter tends to sacrifice all of the distractions and go for the goal with a great effort. On this occasion, the families’ vision gives a positive hope to them and helps them to overcome their fears. As a result, they can pass the difficulties and achieve their dream. Conversely, not everyone has the possibility to do what he or she wants and this would be a disadvantage of the mentioned belief. For instance, parents might encourage their son to become a medical doctor, but he could not join the university as the course costs too much. In this situation, poor backgrounds prevents him from following his dreams and he may be forced to start working from his younger ages to help his family. Consequently, he will become disappointed and would not enjoy his current job. In conclusion, parents usually support their children by giving them positive vibes. However, sometimes the cons of this action outweighs the pros. Although some students try hard to achieve their goals, they fail because of some difficulties like poverty. In my opinion, parents should first consider the possibilities and then help their sweetheart to catch his or her dreams.