People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and the people around them?

In the past, people tended to sleep more than they do in the present. The main reason behind this is long working hours, which affects their physical and mental well-being. Individuals sleep for fewer hours these days because of the long working hours at work. People have immense pressure from their bosses who force them to finish the work as soon as possible. So, they are forced to work day and night, to complete the project they have been assigned. This creates stress and anxiety which keeps them up the whole night. Another reason for working long hefty hours is competition between everyone and the desire to get a promotion at an early age. For example, in a recent study by WHO, multi-national companies have not only increased the working hours from 40 to 50 but also made it mandatory to work 6 days a week. Getting only 4 or 5 hours of sleep affects the physical health of an individual. People who have to stand for longer hours at their jobs develop knee and foot issues, on the other hand, individuals doing sitting jobs have spine or neck injuries. Moreover, people who work constantly do not focus on their hobbies or spend time with their loved ones which affects them mentally. For instance, in a survey conducted by the students at the University of Waterloo, 70% of people are on medication who are working more than 44 hours a week. In conclusion, at present people who work long hours at their workplaces have bad sleeping patterns. This has created an imbalance in their physical and mental health.