Can George's decision from the novel "Of Mice and Men" be justified?

At the end of the novel “Of Mice and Men”, George took the life of his friend. In my opinion, killing Lennie was inevitable, as it meant freeing from the run from one place to another and also in some way giving peace to his friend, who was like a big child. Throughout the story, we could notice how much he cared about Lennie’s wellbeing. On multiple occasions we were able to see how easier life would be for George if not for traveling with a friend: “I could get along so easy and so nice if I didn't have you on my tail”. Sometimes George even acted his father, strict, but caring. I think, even the last scene was his act of mercy, as somewhere deep in the soul he always knew that there will be no such place, where Lennie will be safe and welcome. He knew that people from town won’t be leaving them in peace and Curley will find them no matter where they are to get his revenge. So by shooting him, he saved him from a crueler fate that was waiting for him in case he would get into the ranch's people. Despite that, there was a possibility to go on another run and again search for a place to stay, hiding from Curley. This action had huge risks and in case they were caught together both of them would be killed without any chance for explanation. Also, even if they would succeed this wouldn't mean that the same thing won't happen all over again, like it did in Weed. Therefore it would simply prolong their sufferings. In conclusion, I believe that we can justify what he did, as in the unforgiving world they lived in, there will be no more place for them to live calmly.