The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

There is a number of critical problems the modern world faces these days. The most urging one can be the issue of obesity. The more and more increasing statisctics show that the overweight people are on the verge of having serious health problems. Alarmingly, some of them can be incurable. Thus, this essay primarily focuses on the causes for the growth in people affected by obesity in society and the possible soulitions to the existing problem. First and foremost, the root of the problem may be a lack of physical activity. To be more precise, there is a surplus of jobs that demand sitting on the chair in front of the screen for the whole day. In the past there was not such an abundance of sitting job positions. This circumstance leads to passive lifestyle being predominant. To exemplify, such works as bank clerk, accountant, programmist, etc. do not encourage frequent physical activity. Having discussed the former issue, it is time to move on to the next one. An abundance of junk food and fast- food can be another cause of the growth in overweight people. Taking the evolution of people into account, it should be mentioned that only 100 years ago or so the majority of people were nourishing themselves with food containing predominantly less oil or fat. Besides, individuals of that time consumed less food due to their dependence on the harvest season. Therefore, this comparably quick change in diet had depressed our digestion system, since it did not have time to adapt to new type of food and amount of it. As a result, such representatives of junk- food as chips, sugary drinks and sweets and all the components of fast- food (burger, French fries, hot-dog and so on) damage our health and our bodies. The first problem can be solved with implementing programme aimed at fostering physical activity during working-hours. More exactly, dedicating 15-30 minute intervals to physical exercises every 2 hours might help people to reduce excessive weight step by step and to feel better. As for the second matter, the possible solution for it can be well-balanced diet that encompasses more vegetables and fewer snacks and other junk- food. To conclude, overweight people are indeed at risk of serious health problems. Despite it, the situation can be rectified if they will change their lifestyle drastically by moving more and consuming less unhealthy food.