A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Because oil is such a precious fuel a great deal of money is spent looking for it. Some people believe that this is a waste of our time as oil will not last forever therefore we should spend some of this money advancing new power sources. I agree with this point and think that we should stop focussing on oil supplies as not only it is not sustainable but it is also damaging to the environment. Oil is not only very expensive but it is also one of the most commonly sold commodities on the planet. For this reason, many people have invested great sums of money in locating and extracting it. Countries that have been able to find oil supplies have seen a huge rise in their GDP and a related rise in their population’s living standards. However, oil is not a renewable energy source and one day the earth’s supplies will run out. For this reason, it is not logical for us to continue having dependence on oil and should instead devote time and money to the development of sustainable alternatives. These alternatives already exist in the form of wind, hydro and solar power but need to be invested to meet the global demand for energy. Another issue with our reliance on oil is the effect that it has on the environment. The burning of fossil fuels like oil is one of the key causes of climate change. For this reason, many people argue that rather than looking for new ways of getting oil, its use should be greatly limited. In conclusion, there is no doubt that oil is valuable and has benefits for those who find it. However, we need to focus on generating energy through cleaner, more sustainable methods.