People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that people choose their course based on what sort of jobs they can get instead of their interests. I completely agree with the statement because demanding jobs will make us satisfied and counselling will help us avoid mental problems. The first reason why people should consider their studies on the basis of the jobs because they feel satisfied that they choose a right path. In other words, it makes one happier, that they get high salaried job and their hard work doesn’t get in vain. Also, it makes a person motivated and confident if he gets jobs in his chosen path. For example, in this competitive technological era kids are focusing more on engineering and related subjects as they are aware that AI will be next future and they will be accepted in market with a good salary. Hence, the more we rely on these skills the more an individual will be successful in his professional life. Another reason to consider is that, right counselling will help pupil to avoid depression and other problems. That is to say, the wrong career option leave an individual with no hope to grow and get job and they generally end up doing nothing or changing their career as they are not aware about the market trends. For instance, it has been observed that choosing wrong choice makes a person looser, feel demotivated as they didn’t get a job as expected. Therefore, the correct counselling should be done with kids when they are entering their adolescent age. In conclusion, people should choose their career on the basis of the market. I agree that demanding jobs and choosing right option plays vital role in one’s life.