Schools should only offer subjects that are beneficial to students’ future career success. Other subjects, such as music and sports, are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that the variety of subjects taught in school is a hot topic of discussion. Some believe that certain subjects, such as mathematics and economics, are more beneficial than others. However, I partially agree with this view due to the importance of music and sports in the development of other areas of the brain. This essay will discuss the supporting reasons for my opinion. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that careers such as those of mathematicians and finance professionals are more appreciated and widely recognized as high-paying jobs. For example, a junior consultant at a Big Four accounting firm in Indonesia earns twice the minimum wage. Hence, people are keen to focus more on subjects related to the accounting field. However, the advancement of technology suggests otherwise and has opened up enormous opportunities for creative professionals. For instance, the development of e-commerce has had a significant impact on creative workers, enabling them to sell their products. Moreover, sportswear brands, such as Nike and Adidas, see huge opportunities through advertising their products by supporting athletes. For example, Naomi Osaka has become one of the biggest brand ambassadors for Nike. Therefore, professional players should not be afraid of earning small amounts of money initially. To sum up, I agree that fixed professions, such as doctors and lawyers, make a lot of money, but that doesn't mean other professionals do not have equal opportunities.