Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

People are divided in their opinion regarding keeping wild animals in zoos or setting them free. Some believe that they should be held in zoos so people can enjoy watching them and understanding more about them, while, others oppose this opinion claiming that zoos are an open prison to animals. This essay shall discuss both aspects in further paragraphs before forming an opinion. On one hand, zoos play a vital role in keeping animals which are about to extinct, as they protect them from and provide them with good living conditions. Moreover, visiting zoos is one of the most interesting outings for many families, where children have the chance to see wild animals and learn more information about them. Additionally, with the emergence of animals right laws in many countries, zoos have become more delicate in treating animals, as they try to adopt wildlife features for the animals inside the zoo. For instance, they don't put animals inside cages anymore, instead, they provide them with big spaces where they can run freely as they used to in the jungle. On the other hand, animals are living beings which have feelings and get affected by surrounding circumstances. Therefore, those who disagree with the concept of zoos, believe that locking animals inside zoos has many severe consequences on their health, including increasing the risk of diseases such as depression which in some cases leads to their death. For example, studies have shown that the average of animals age decreases when they live at zoos because many of them get depressed and refuse to eat until they die. In my view, although zoos captivate animals ' freedom, nonetheless, they preserve many animals from extinction. Accordingly, i believe that certain restrictions must be applied in zoos, for example, not all types of animals should be kept in zoos, in addition to this, they should be well treated and zoos should accommodate wildlife circumstances as much as possible to them. In conclusion, despite we all enjoy visiting zoos many animals are mistreated inside such zoos. As a result, zoos should make their best effort to take care of animals and not lock them inside without offering them their basic needs in life.