Some people believe that there should be a gap year after finishing high school (secondary school) and before starting university. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Taking a break before starting university life is considered important for some people as it helps them relax and recharge before going to challenging world. I completely agree with this statement and will discuss my viewpoints in this essay. Firstly, youngsters spend their almost 14 years in school education and secondary school year are mostly stressfull for every kid because of its neck to neck competition and sleepless nights. Hence, to avoid burnout it is vital to take a step back and do something different from study so that they can become better person and more confident to take future challenges. For example, in this gap year they can do volunteer work at places like hospitals, old age homes etc which will teach them life lessons from community and elderly. Secondly, by taking a break one do things which they could not do because of continuous school life. Moreover, it will also give opportunity to learn a new skill that can help them in future studies or by which a person could do a job in future while studying which provides a person with sense of independence. For example, a study at Cambridge University shows that students who do part time work while studying are more happy in life than others because they feel more confident and have more social life skills. In conclusion, I completely in agreement with this statement that having a break before starting furture further studies is considered important as it has many benefits and helps in making person a better version of themselves.