Some people believe that arts such as painting and music do not improve people’s lives and therefore government should not spend money on them. Instead the government should spend money on science and technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

One school of thought holds that art subjects do not contribute to developing human skills in life so the state does not need to expend money on them, while others believe that they should be funded for science and technology. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency perspective before concluding that I am in favour of the latter notion. On the one hand, If the government does not have the budget for art instead, science and technology could be disadvantageous to some extent. Firstly, it will reduce the opportunities for self-development of art lovers. For example, there is no market and businesses to develop for them to try and experience if the government does not provide and creative a foothold for them. Meanwhile, the government has the responsibility to invest in science and technology. This just ensure that they have a better living standards. In other words, they must have the basic amenities to be able to enjoy the other experiences such as the arts in life. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that investing in arts like painting and music enriches cultural heritage and enhances quality of life. One rationale is that art could improve human creativity. This is because individuals are free to be creative with colors and images to create their signature pictures by their painting and talent. Another justification is that art helps a country to develop economically. For instance, arts have a significant economic impact by attracting tourism, creating jobs, and generating revenue. Specifically, museums, concerts, and art galleries often become cultural landmarks that contribute to the economy. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that science and technology play a vital role in social life, I would contend that it is impossible to deny the value that art brings to our lives.