Some people think that it’s important to spend money on family celebrations (e.g. weddings, birthdays). But others think expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, it has been observed that many people globally prefer to celebrate family functions in an opulent way. This trend has sparked a debate: celebrating family functions by spending a significant amount of money is a waste of money, whereas others think these events hold an important part in their lives and should be celebrated in a grand way. This essay will discuss both perspectives before articulating my notion that many family functions should be celebrated with a limited budget. For many families, events like weddings, birthdays, etc., are a way to connect with their relatives and friends and indulge in celebrating an occasion. In these events, family members come from different cities and spend quality time with one another. For instance, in Indian marriages, the host family invites their relatives who live in different cities and with whom they have had no contact for years; these events help them reunite with their old relatives. Additionally, for many individuals, these celebrations are a way to show their status in society. Conversely, those who favor less expensive celebrations argue that expensive celebrations create an additional financial burden on individuals. One needs to consider one's financial status before hosting such events. If someone's budget is limited, it is better to go for small events, as this will not create a financial burden on them. Moreover, it is not necessary to follow trends and spend a significant amount of money; instead, it should be saved for future purposes like education and home purchases. In conclusion, I would say that family functions are a way to connect with relatives and friends and to show society one's status, but we need to consider the financial aspect as well; spending a significant amount of money is not necessary and should be saved for future purposes.