Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Many adolescents have their own smartphones. While having a smart device sometimes consumes their precious time because they spend a lot of time on their smartphones, I personally believe that having smartphones actually ensures their protection when they are in danger. Some people argue that teenagers should not have their own smart devices because they spend a lot of their valuable time on their smart devices. They become involved in various activities in online, such as chatting with their friends, playing video games, and endlessly scrolling social media. These activities consume a significant amount of their time in a day. As a result, they cannot find time for study and other types of productivity. For example, in the USA, adolescents spend around 6 to 7 hours a day on their smartphones. If they invest that time in their studies, their academic performance would have been improved. However, I personally believe that smartphones protect them if they carry them all the time because they can call their parents or the police if they are in danger. Smartphones can protect adolescents. If they can carry smartphones with them when they are inside or outside of their homes, they can protect themselves from any harm. They can call the police to seek help or inform their parents about the danger. For instance, in the UK, in 2020, some criminals attempted to abduct a 14-years-old boy, while he was returning from school by walk. When he was with the criminals, he tactfully messaged his parents his whereabouts, and his parents immediatly dialed tripple zero to call the police, which assisted the police to reach the spot immedietely and rescue the boy. Therefore, I believe that if teenage children have smart devices with them, they can make the best use of them when they are in danger. In conclusion, I personally believe that while teenagers spend a lot of their valuable time in the smartphones, having a smartphone has more benefits than drawbacks because it is really useful for them when they are in danger.