The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend.Do you agree or disagree?

The health problems caused by over-working have became a hotly discussed topic. Some people suggest that the balance between work and rest should be adjusted, and the workers deserve a properly extended weekend. I partially agree with this opinion. Decreasing the working hours is an effective solution to prevent overstrain. Even though more people are working in indoor environments nowadays, the exhaustion caused by long shifts remains significant. According to some scientific literature, over-working is one of the main reasons that contributes to the depression of the employees. Therefore, extending the weekend so that workers are allowed to have a better rest is a directed solution targeting this issue. Furthermore, a longer weekend is inclined to have positive impacts on workers’ mental health. A better work-life balance condition would allow the working-class to have more personal time. Thus, they could spent time on leisure activity and relaxation. This would effectively reduced the work-related stress, and, therefore, leading to improve mental well-being. However, I would suggest that a portion of workers should stay on duty, such as doctors, police officers and firefighters because they are responsible on dealing with emergencies. For this population with specialised duties, a more flexible working arrangement should be implemented. In conclusion, a longer weekend would benefit worker’s mental health and reduce the risk of extreme exhaustion. However, for those responsible for urgent situations, a more flexible working system should be applied.