According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourists in the 1960s and ’70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happens? How was tourism different in the past? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

As mentioned in the international travel magazine, nowadays travelers like to only stay their hotels rather than exploring new places as in the 1960s and 1970s. This essay will dive deeper into its reasons and give details. In the past, technology was not developed as today. Thus, seeing places on the internet and watching about a touristic region was not common. For instance, now there are documentries and videos about anywhere that comes to your mind. Furthermore, people starts to learn about a lot of facts and so much more beforehand. Consequently, this leads them to lose interest, making travelers discouraged to explore and experience the culture there. In the past, tourists were much more enthusiastic than today. Since traveling was not so easy, people saw it as a precious occasion. For example, my grandma used to plan her vacations way before the trip date. Moreover, she thought about every little detail to make the best out of her vacation. They had to take to bus which took approximately 1 to 2 days, even to the closest destination. So for them, traveling was not usual and common as it is for us. In conclusion, there are several reasons for tourist to stay inside without hanging out in the selected destination and consequences that comes with the technology is one of them. In addition, the travel concept has been changed.