The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is growing need of oil and gas, and some individuals advocate for exploiting untouched lands to fulfill the need of the public. In my opinion, extracting fossil fuels, namely gas and oil, outperform its benefits. Some people that take side with using other remote lands due to their potential capacity of fossil fuels point out that this could raise employment rate in developing countries. In fact, some countries rely heavily on oil and gas as a main source of budget. This budget can allocate to more pressing needs, such as healthcare system and welfare. Ignoring this idea would avoid economic prosper, thus more poverty. For instance, Arabic countries are striving to set high standards for their citizens and furthering their plans mainly by selling oil barrels and gas export which has doubled the rate of jobs available, however, leaving the idea of using other lands rich in oil and gas unnoticed, would bring them social and economic unrest. Nevertheless, extracting oil and gas of other far lands would come at a terrible cost which is ecosystem imbalance. Firstly, after spotting the exact place and implementing devices, governors should cut a vast number of trees. Deforestation or bare lands that mainly derive from economic purposes could in turn harm not only people but also contribute to weather deterioration. Furthermore, home degradation of species. After exploiting the potential land, the very species of that place would run or go extinction, specifically endangered ones. Hence, it could be detrimental to animal population. To conclude, although seeking other lands to use widely can bring people temporary benefits, including more jobs and larger budget for other pressing needs, it would have implications, such as habitat loss and deforestation. Maybe policymakers should come up with novel and environmentally-friendly initiates rather than destroying their planet.