Teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their communities. This is good foe the individuals concerned and society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree with htis view? Discuss, based on your own knowledge and experience.

A good work ethic is one of the best trait that a exemplary citizen would ever have. This kind of attitude could be acquired through hard work in their jobs or in voluntary work. In a young age, a teenager could hasten their potentials and skills through this unpaid work and this could start in their community. But should volunteering be free? Should it be done with no pay? or maybe, It could be paid but, just less of the amount? I think, it depends on how a person who volunteers would think of the situation. I have done volunteer work many times in my life, and I could say that some of it is paid, and some of them are not paid. For example, there was one time that I got paid to be a "Election Assistant", we usher voters during voting day through voting rooms. These jobs are tagged as volunteering but it is paid, maybe because it is a big responsibility to maintain harmony during election day. But don't get me wrong, I do volunteer work that are not paid, mostly are fund raisers or giving food to the needy. Through this volunteer work, I manage to develop my skills of communication and being patient to people that became beneficial to landing a managerial position in my company today. In the end, I would say this kind of topic would really be decided by the person who is doing the work. Would they accept the fact that the job could be paid or not paid? or Reconsider the skills that they would get from it? Still its a win-win situation for me.