Due to evelopment and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countires, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the effects of expansion of supermarkets have become the heated debate. Some people assert that big shops make local economy discouraging, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that the both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples. On the one hand, large supermarkets provide cheaper products to consumers, leading to benefits. In addition, they offer many opportunities of choice and convenient environment for shopping. This means that the quality of individuals will be increase. Another convincing argument is that expansion of supermarkets is likely to create jobs in the societies. For example, nowadays, employment rate show a downward trend, but the societies need many workers to work in the big business.. On the other hand, my opinion is that big shops will bring about the death of local economy. The most compelling reason is that if the supermarkets dominate the society, other shops will close, reducing the connection in the societies. Moreover, the large businesses concentrate on specific brand and goods, while local shops focus on their properties. In other words, the local characteristics endangered in disappearing. For instance, it can lead to reduce tourists. According to the research of Seoul University, local traits influence to local economic growth. Because visitors want to special restaurant, nothing big business. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.