In some countries, some school leavers choose to work or travel for a year between finishing secondary school and attending university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and then give your opinion.

Time is very crucial in the life of students and many of high school graduates might take a year break to work or travel before going to university. Despite that there are some disadvantages for this, I believe that the advantages are greater. On one hand, having one year break between secondary school and university has many benefits. Graduates can use this time to work and learn more about their future career passion by working in various job sectors. As a result, this will help them to choose the best university program according to their needs. Also, by working for a year they will save more money for the university's tuition fees. One year might be a relaxing break after the challenges that students face during high school. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of leaving school for a year as well. For example, those leavers might lose their interest and become less eager to go back to university which will affect their education and future. Moreover, in one year the requirements of undergraduate programs at universities might change to be more complicated than before and it might make their admission process harder. Take the language requirement as an example, in 2019 at King Khalid University it used to be 6 in IELTS exam and now in 2024 it is 7. In conclusion, I think that taking a year break after completing secondary school can help students to decide their education plan and save for tuition fees. However, it also has some consequences like losing the passion to study or lowering the acceptance chances.