These seem to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantage of exams as a form of assessment?

Learner evaluation is one of the most crucial milestones during the academic year, however, it is argued that exams are the best way to evaluate students rather than all-year assessments. There are several advantages and disadvantages of exams as the only method of evaluation. On the one hand, using exams as a form of assessment in the educational system has many benefits. One of those is that it is an accurate and helpful method to assess the skills that students gain during the course. It encourages students to study continuously to prepare for the exam unlike when they do not have exams they might not be eager to study. Moreover, it helps the teachers to know the weaknesses and the challenges that their students face then as a result they can work to improve it. On the other hand, evaluating learners using exams only has some disadvantages. Take high stress as an example, tests especially the ones that worth a lot of points might increase the stress level of students. Also, students will work hard to pass the course rather than trying to learn and benefit from it. Exams can consume time and effort to prepare by the teachers and then correct all the papers, although this time could be used to explain and discuss the course materials with learners. In conclusion, I believe that using exams as an assessment tool has many advantages such as, its accuracy to assess the skills and weaknesses of students. In addition, it helps students to study in a daily basis. Nevertheless, it has some disadvantages as well for example, the high stress level, foucsing on passing not learning, and waisting teachers' time and effort.