With the advancement in healthcare and technology, people now have a longer lifespan. Some argue that the retirement age which is normally 60 to 65 years of age should be adjusted to 70 years or even higher. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? Give reason and example to state your stance

Nowadays, people are experiencing longer life period due to the improvement of health and technology quality. In the past, only few made it until 70, but nowadays majority can live healthily until the age of 80. Due to this phenomenon, people are arguing whether the retirement age for working could be added up 5 -10 years to 70 years old or later. I opine that the changing age policy is not necessary and should only be done with several conditions. In this essay, I am going to talk about the two sides considering this issue: physical health and mental readiness. Talking about retirement age, the most important factor is health problem. While some elderly might appear to be in their prime condition, but we can not resist that the body is aging and has totally different endurance than when they were younger. The current healthcare might solve complex issues. However, assuming that people start working since 25 years old and stop until 65, the forty years should be an enough period for the body to work. Additionally, majority of office workers are required to sit for a long time and commute every day. For example, in Japan, people spend more than 9 hours a day to go to the office, do their job, and go home. The hours can be longer when they do overwork. Therefore, I do not think it is necessary to put the physical burden longer by postponing the deadline when someone is already 65 years old. On the other side, fully stop working is not an easy milestone to conquer. While one's physical condition is important to think of, some find it hard to accept the fact that they are no longer productive and earning money. The mental readiness is another factor to talk about. Not everyone feel at peace to put an end to their income source, they would rather have something to do every day. Furthermore, a part-time job for elders can be an option. By doing part-time, retired workers are able to work in less hours, still earning money, and be productive. Several countries such as Philippines and Singapore have adapted this. Additionally, this opportunity connects them in a new community, too. In conclusion, although the current era has shown an increasing life period, it does not mean the retirement rules need to be added up. Health issues comes first when thinking about the urgency of this matter. Although, another option such as part-time work can be done for those who are still willing to be active.