Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together, while others think that people and communities are become more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Due to the advancement of technology, the Internet has become inseparable in our lives. However, it has been increasingly concerned that while it is undoubtedly beneficial for today’s daily communication, it also can cause the rise of social isolation in the community. This essay will discuss both views on how the existence of the Internet can influence people ’s social engagement. On the positive side, we cannot ignore that the Internet has been tremendous helpful tools to bring people closer, regardless places and times. With the Internet, everyone is able to share their daily stories and updates by sending messages and media in social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. By doing these, family members and friends are able to keep updated with each other, especially for those who are residing abroad. For instance, a daughter who are pursuing college overseas, is able to connect with her parents quickly by Whatsapp instead of using letters which would take months to receive the reply. On the other hand, improper and excessive usage of this technology may cause some people to be addicted and isolate from the community. For example, video game has been well-known to many people, because of its immersive experience and amazing graphics, which cannot be replicate in real life. Unfortunately, some of us are too engrossed in these advances, causing them staying too much indoor and lessen interacting with outside world. Consequently, they will have fewer friends in real life, which not only lead to the lack of social interaction and networking but may cause severe mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. To conclude, the Internet can be a double-edged sword, maintaining the connection between people efficiently, but at the same time may cause serious social problems within the community if the technology is improperly used. In my opinion, knowing how to keep balance between usage of the Internet and engaging in social activities of the community is fairly crucial for one’s healthy social lifestyle.