Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people are being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, technological advancements has been drastically increased and being used to monitor people activities. In particular, technologies like GPS tracker, Traffic cameras and hidden video recorder are used to detect crimes. Moreover, health tracker with sensors gives data about persons health which, is useful in early detection and treatment of certain diseases. At the same time, these innovations pose threats like data theft and monitoring without owners consent. In this essay, I will discuss why advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the positive side, most of the serious crimes are declined by half using GPS tractors and spy cameras. Moreover, video recording cameras are installed in every traffic junctions and crime prone areas which, monitor and detect robbery, murders and chain snatching. Most importantly, it is used as an evidence to imprison the law breakers. On the other side, health trackers in smart phones helps to monitor the heart rate and oxygen saturation which, helps in early diagnosis of certain medical conditions. For instance, apple watches has heart rate and electrocardiogram sensor that send alert signals to friends and family members when the individual met with an accident or collapsed due to heart attack. On the negative side, every time when someone install mobile applications, it collects personal data from the mobile and stores it. Sometimes, it can be hacked and used for blackmailing. In addition to that, some application might sell the personal information to third parties like credit card seller or insurance company. However, data theft are very common and leads to unwanted calls and messages for scamming. So, nothing is personal when it comes to using technologies because everything might be hacked. For example, truecaller application collects datas while installing and sells to various organizations. In conclusion, even though there are some risks in using technologies like cell phones and cameras for tracking, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Tracking health is beneficial for most people and cameras used by police helps in detecting crimes. So, with proper regulations and protections like antivirus, these devices serves great purpose.