Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people’s salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bag thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the debate over how much the government should require for tax payments, to fund public services such as schools, roads and hospitals, is a never ending issue. Some people believe that they are a burden and it just discourages the economic growth, while others feel that high payments are crucial for maintaining public services and infrastructure. In my opinion, high taxes allow governments to invest in essential public services, for example education, transportation and healthcare. Furthermore all this services improve the overall quality of life. For instance, the Nordic countries use public money to provide free hospitalizations, schools and universities, and as a result these countries are promoting very high living standards in addition to economic stability. Even if in my opinion high taxes are totally necessary, they also have their minuses, in fact they are a big discouragement for small businesses. To illustrate this, imagine how can a business grow if the tax requirements are too big and it drivers the investors away, resulting in jobs losses and economic stagnation. Similarly to this, each individual has to suffer, because they limit the spending power and savings, in fact, in countries like France it has lead to protests and dissatisfaction among citizens. In conclusion, I think that a balanced approach to this problem can be the most effective solution. Governments should provide fair taxation, bot not excessively high to discourage economic activities.