Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

Nowadays, technological advancement has been drastically raising which causes sedentary lifestyle. Most people at their old age attracts lifestyle diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and dementia. To avoid these, doctors always recommend to engage in exercises. But most older age group people lack interest and motivation to do fitness activities. Moreover, existing medical conditions can lead to early fatigue and exertion. In this essay we will the reasons and how we can encourage them to exercise more. The prime reason most old adults avoid doing exercises is lack of interest and motivation. This is because, they want to spend their precious time enjoying activities that they like. Moreover, gadgets and social media made their life easier so they don't want to come out of their comfort zone. For example, many older individuals spend their daily routine watching TV series and scrolling social media. In addition, pre-existing diaseases can predispose to early faigue if they involve in physical activities. Recent studies at California university shows that majority of old people avoid stairs and take escalators to avoid breathlessness. To incorporate exercises into their daily routine certain measures to be taken such as encouraging them to participate in group fitness sessions. These activities not only benefit for their physical health but it also mentally relaxing and prevents loneliness. For example, walking with friends in park motivates older adults to stick to the exercise routine. Moreover, encouraging physical activities that are enjoyable as well as light intensity can motivate people to get involved. For example, swimming, cycling, jogging are refreshing as well as less intense. In conclusion, the prime reasons older people not engaging in exercise activities are disinterest, lack of guidance and early tierdness. To tackle this, group session activities and less intense form of exercises should be encouraged.