Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring student’s performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

The debate regarding examinations in schools has been ongoing for a while. Many people think exams are not efficient when it comes to accessing the students ' knowledge, and suggest their replacement with continuous assessments rather. I completely agree with this opinion. I believe continuous assessments are a better way to measure the student's performance, as it gives students more time to effort on their performance or projects. The primary reason why exams are inappropriate methods for measuring students ' performance is because, the word examination is usually considered stressful and tense to most students, and this can easily influence achievement. For example, a student might be going through emotional degradation on the exam day, which means that the student will not be able to perform to his/her full ability on the exams. This will make the assessment of act invalid, as such factors are often not considered. Secondly, continuous assessment provides every student with the opportunity to focus on their work at an equal pace, especially those who are slow will benefit as well. For instance, appraisal assessment, often involves students reflecting on overall topics taught throughout the term, which is not judged based on the final examination. This will not only gain insight about their various pieces of work during the course, but will also show any area where the students are lacking knowledge. In conclusion, examinations are good in terms of motivation to study and also encourage students to focus more, mostly due to fear of failure. But when it comes to measuring students ' performance, continuous assessment method is the most effective and appropriate, as it does not only access the final outcome, but the process as well. Therefore, will suggest the replacement of exams with continuous assessments when it comes to performance.