Many people believe that social networking sites have huge negative effect on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world with advanced technology development, the Internet has been an inseparable part in our society, and one of its features is social networking sites. While they are widely used particularly as a platform for gaining information and communicating people, I believe excessive and improper these affect negatively to people’s health and society. We cannot ignore that social websites are effective for easing individuals’ daily life by providing unlimited access to any information and knowledge, as well as exchanging thoughts and opinions, regardless of distance and time. However, mismanaging these platforms may lead to sedentary behavior which harm one’s wellbeing. For instance, a boy who excessively engrossed in Twitter throughout the day tend to stay indoors, which results in lack of healthy exercise and outdoor activities. These unhealthy lifestyles can damage people’s long-term health, and worser, result into many chronic diseases such as obesity. Other drawbacks of social networking sites are they can deteriorate individuals’ relationships and connections, which lead to social isolation. This is because people can utilize them to communicate each other digitally, which reduces face-to-face interactions in real life. While they are indeed effective for urgent communication, individuals may have fewer friends in real life and could not establish meaningful and fulfilling relationships. Lack of meaningful connections can negatively affect people’s mental health, lead into severe depression and anxiety. Consequently, overly depending in social networks surely reduces the quality of real-life relationships, which can lead to serious societal issues. In conclusion, while social platforms may provide numerous benefits in terms of accessibility and convenience, however improper and misusage these features could extremely harm people’s wellbeing and social dynamics.