Nowadays, most of the information is available on the internet, whereas in the past, knowledge was stored in books and on paper. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the course of last hundred years, development of technology has transferred our lives beyond recognition. Gone are the days that people used to read paper books in order to acquire knowledge. Although gaining information through the internet might have a few downsides like lack of credibility, it clearly offers an array of benefits. Undoubtedly, one of the main contributions of accessing information online is that this data is available regardless of any time and place limitations. Thereby, people from different parts of the world have the opportunity to acquire up-to-date knowledge and skills with just a few clicks, rather than spending hours searching for a book in a library. Furthermore, the internet provides information on an array of topics, ranging from history to medicine, it also offers various perspectives through articles, videos and blogs. As a tangible example, a recent study at Harvard University found that teenagers who do research online are far more knowledgeable than their peers. On the contrary, the online sources also have some drawbacks. Firstly, sometimes the information available on the internet can be inaccurate. Indeed, due to the overload of data on the internet, some information may lack sufficient credibility. Secondly, there is a widespread belief that unnecessary photos and clips about a subject, adhere to human memory and stifle their imagination and creativity. For instance, if a young girl focus on learning to cook based on online tutorials, she cannot prepare food without recipes. In summary, although there are negative and positive impacts of acquiring knowledge and fostering skills through the internet, I believe its advantages such as accessibility and diversity, far outweigh the disadvantages.