Subjects like arts, music and drama are more important than other subjects and therefore should be given more time in the calendar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that some subjects like arts, music and drama should be given more preference over other subjects such as math and economics and more time should be devoted towards their teaching. While there might be some reasons to support that idea, I believe that every subject holds equal importance and therefore should not be ignored. In this essay, I shall critically examine the given topic and outline relevant examples to support my view. First and foremost, the significance of any subject depends on the interest of the student. It is solely the student's choice to discover his passion as it is fruitless to pursue a career in the field, in which one has little or no interest at all. A recent study conducted at the University of Stanford showed that people are more likely to succeed in a career of their passion than compared to others. Moreover, allowing more time to certain subjects will reduce the time available for other essential subjects. This could result in a number of negative consequences. Another main reason to disagree with the statement is the rapid advancements in the technological fields.Almost every developing and developed country has a critical occupation shortage list which includes IT professionals, Healthcare workers and Engineers. This results in a decline in employment opportunities for professions related to arts, music and drama due to the high demand for technical professionals in today's job market. Therefore, it is not wise to allocate more time and resources to these over other essential subjects. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that studies related to arts, music and drama should be given more priority. I believe that other fields should not be looked down on as they're the backbone of any country and hold equal relevance.