Some people think that paying taxes is their only responsibility towards society while others feel that everyone should do more. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The payment of taxes is an important responsibility of a citizen in a society. There are some who feel that in terms of responsibility, paying taxes is all that is needed, while opponents argue that individuals are meant to do more for their community. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the argument and why I feel people are meant to invest more than taxes into the country. Advocates of these theory feel this way because of two reasons. The main one is that the government are meant to be responsible for developing the nation; hence, it should be their burden to do more for the country. For instance, the building of infrastructure is one of many reforms slated to be implemented by the president; therefore, people only have to provide financially for this by paying their taxes. In addition, a lot of money is being deducted as taxes. Due to this, many individuals believe that such amount is a sacrifice which should be enough for them to be considered patriots. Nevertheless, others disagree with this notion for two reasons. First of all, many government officials are corrupt; therefore, nationals are to put more efforts to ensure that people in authority use the taxes properly. For example, in Nigeria, many celebrities sponsor peaceful protest againt bad expenditures in the nation. This would help prevent money wastage by people in authority. Additionally, other obligations such as obeying the laws of the country can help increase security in the nation. Hence, paying taxes is not all that is important to keep a nation going. In conclusion, both perspectives have their reasonable points. On balance, I feel that citizens are to do more than just pay taxes. This is because of the presence of corrupt government officials and the need for security which is more important than trusting authorities blindly or the potential sacrifice made.