Some people believe that government funding for the arts (such as music, theater, and visual arts) is a waste of money and that it should be spent on more important areas like education and healthcare. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s non-stop growth of society, an intelligent distribution of funds by the government, needs to be done as the population requirements of healthcare, education, and recreational activities are a cornerstone to improve vital areas such as the physical and psychological, in other words, achieve a sense of well-being. However, some people believe that the support from the state of artistical pastimes is a waste of money; instead, it should focus more on healthcare and education, since these aspects are more elemental for the public. From my point of view, I partially agree with the stated notion, because not only should authorities spend money on health and schools, but also they should dedicate a portion of funding to implementing artistic projects for the population. On the one hand, the nation uses vital services such as hospitals and schools that allow the community to experience well-being and security. For instance, many hospitals are offering a variety of medical procedures such as deliveries, vaccinations, hospitalization, and high-level attention. In addition, pupils also need plenty of material and infrastructure resources, such as books, textbooks, classrooms, and computers to guarantee a strong instilled knowledge. By fulfilling these requirements, kids and families will thrive and could contribute to the world. On the other hand, I assume that fomenting arts to the population is not vital if crowds do not first enjoy a decent lifestyle, with the most essential needs. Nevertheless, artistical expressions could be beneficial for the community as a recreational activity or hobby, since they can focus on these, instead of unmindful activities such as perpetuation of vandalism, robbery or another kind of immoral actions. For example, recently, the local authority of my village, showed the latest crime statisticts after fomenting a variety of outdoor diversions such as sports and artistic expressions. The results, indicated a significant low in crime percentage which is, definitely, an achievement. To conclude, not only does society need health and education to thrive in this world, but also the arts are a cornerstone to fulfil a sense of well-being. For that reason, the state should support this field only when the basic services are completed.