In some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, more and more people prefer to live alone and engage in activities that promote personal development and well-being. I believe that this lifestyle has more negative than positive impacts. On the one hand, the two main positive developments are that living alone offers private time to concentrate only on self-improvement and career progression and the reduction of the number of family conflicts. To begin, living alone contributes to both personal and career growth since people can concentrate on managing their life much more effectively by dedicating all of their time and efforts to focus on either themselves or work to escape from loneliness. Without being distracted from other family members, they can spend time reading books deliberately to explore new things and come up with new strategies to increase the sales of the companies that they are working in. In addition, living with a large number of family members can cause many small conflicts, such as an argument between sister and brother about food that one of them might eat before asking permission from the other. Spending time alone during the weekday and then returning to their house meeting an entire family during weekends or a special holiday can strengthen bond within a family, as each person can appreciate and value time that they spend together, for instance, watching TV and eating dinner together. Therefore, this lifestyle contributes to them realizing the importance of family’s feelings and, consequently reducing the number of family conflicts because no one neglects or ignores other’s feelings anymore. On the other hand, living alone also has some negative effects such as an increase in the cost of properties and a rise in crime rates. To begin, living alone means that each individual purchases or rents one unit of either apartment or condominium to enjoy their own time within this residence; thus, this action creates higher demands for these properties, resulting in higher costs for them. For instance, Seoul city, the capital city in South Korea, has a considerable amount of young people, who migrate from other rural cities in South Korea to find a better career prospect in Seoul. This migration significantly increases the price of one unit apartment in Soul since each of them prefers to live alone rather than sharing a room with other roommates; therefore, in the long term, there are is a higher chance that they cannot afford the price of accommodation in Seoul anymore and, consequently returning to their hometown. What’s more, living alone increases opportunities for criminals or offenders to commit crimes related to burglary and violence or sexual offences. When a robber or a burglar see that a victim, especially a woman, is living her house alone, they view this as an opportunity to enter a building or steal some valuables from owner’s house, as they believe that these female-house owners have no power to combat with them. As a result, the number of crimes significantly rises with an increase in the independent-living trend. In conclusion, although living independently can lead to several advantages like personal and professional growth and a decrease in the number of family conflicts, there are significant negative impacts which are a surge of property costs and a rise of crime rates. In my opinion, if governments invest in sustainable urban planning and improve infrastructure in rural areas to balance development and educate children at schools to see the importance of family, there is little doubt that it will have at least a net positive across the whole nation.