Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every community or society have been following a set of rules and principles for many decades. These rules and laws are essential to maintain proper functioning of the society. In this essay, I will discuss the consequences, if individuals were free to do whatever they want. Firstly, society is built on trust, compassion and empathy. Moreover, humans are social beings and depends on each other for their survival. In stone age, there were no rules and regulations and people can do whatever they want. Because of this, one tribe rage war against another for loot and it leads to mass murder. After some period, people elected leaders among them and rules were introduced. Slowly people adapted with rules and regulations and crime rates are reduced. Nowadays, every country have different laws and punishments for the crimes. If there were no regulations, people with greed can do extreme crimes like homicide, robbery and sexual harassment. California University conducted a survey that stated one day with no rules and regulations and what people will do. The results were shocking because most of them wanted to do anti-social activities. For example, if traffic rules like wearing helmet and following sign boards are withdrawn by government, it causes rash driving and road traffic accidents. In conclusion, I totally agree that rules and laws are mandatory to maintain human morals and values. Moreover, without regulation humans can become selfish animals. To prevent violent crimes strict principles should be followed.