Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home, as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accesible . Do you think this will be a positive or negative development.

In modern soceity, people are not always required to work or study onsite because of the advancement of technology and the accessibility of computers. Even though working and learning from home have undeniable advantages, I believe this trend brings negative impacts for both adults and children. On the one hand, working from home impacts employees' performance. Individuals feel relaxed and comfortable when they are home, thus they need to spend extra effort to stay concentrated while handling work related issues. Plus, people tend to find themselves have difficulties in remaining satisfactory work performance as they are easily distracted by the various devices available at home. A recent survey result indicated that over 20% of workers do not enjoy working from home after approximately four months because of the challenges in maintaining their attention while working from home. On the other hand, studying from home damages both physical and mental development of children. Children who study from home tend to spend a significant amount of time in front of screens with little movements, leading to obesity and eyesight decreased. Additionally, unlike the traditional learning model that students have to attend school, youngsters gain limited opportunities to participate in various activities, therefore, they have less chance of making authentic friendships with their peers, leading to loneliness and depression. In conclusion, working and learning from distance can bring negative influence. Not only employees are less productive as working from home fail to provide a distraction-free environment, but also children's pysical and mental health is under threat. Even though working and learning from home is advantageous, we cannot neglect the disadvantages it brings to both adults and children.