The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

Presently, there are a large number of cities and towns that was setup in the past which was built to suite individuals who lived during that time. However, these places have become problematic to citizens in this current time. This essay will highlight the challenges that could occur and provide solutions to them. There are two main issues that residents in out-dated settlements might face. The first is the lack of modern amenities needed for their comfort. For example, in the past, many houses in Nigeria had their toilets built separatly. Now, youngsters who rent such places find this type of homes very uncomfortable. Furthermore, old structures could have a higher risk of collapsing as it might not have been built to withstand the weight of all the new appliances emerging in this century. Hence, causing harm to the public. These problems can be resolved via two methods. First of all, certain renovations can be done to old buildings to increase comfort for the owners. To illusrate, bathtubs can be installed into an old bathroom and wall papers can be used to cover old pantings to suit people with modern preferences. Another solution is to demolish old facilities. Although, this method might be a threat to historical heritage, it is worth it in terms of human safety. Replicas which are more suitable for modern use can be erected to preserve culture. In conclusion, old towns and cities can be problematic it terms of amenities and building collapsing; nevertheless, renovating these buildings or demolishing them can be solutions to solve these issues.