Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to make vehicle drivers to take a test every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road casualties are becoming a major concern for everyone today. Some people reckon that every individual who drives should give a driving test every year, which will be a feasible solution to combat this arising issue. I believe that this initiative can be proven beneficial to a limited extent, but other factors like strict regulations and awareness campaigns are more advisable measures to take into consideration. To begin with, appearing in a test every year can make people reliable and accustomed with traffic rules to obey because when such things become an obligation, then it may influence the drivers to follow and implement whatever they have read and did while giving the road test, along with the instructor. To be more specific, it is a common phenomenon that repetition of any task on a continuous basis makes a person proficient; that means mandatory road tests would enhance safety by avoiding the occurrence of accidents. However, changing this one single rule cannot guarantee the outcome in favor of making roads safer. Along with it, there should be strict rules and regulations implemented by the government to ensure that no one takes traffic rules for granted. For instance, in India, if any driver is caught driving while having alcohol, his license will be suspended and he will be sentenced to a minimum of six years for endanering the people’s lives in case of an accident. Moreover, organizing awareness campaigns or seminars could assist the public in understanding the main causes of major road accidents and injuries. As a result, they will start to be cautious while driving not only to save themselves but also to ensure that others do not become victims of their negligence. At the initial stage, vehicle drivers would cease using mobile phones or listening to music at high volumes if they have motivation from such programs. In conclusion, no doubt, chances of road casualties can be mitigated if drivers are passing the driving exam each year because it will help them to stay updated with the guidelines and criteria to follow. But a combination of measures such as stringent legal actions against breaking the law and awareness campaigns can also be effective in solving this nuisance.