Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Modern advancements in technology has significantly changed the methods in which people communicate with each other. Although it means that more ways have developed for communication, there are less deeper relationships because of the insecurities. This is a negative development because it leads to mental issues for the individuals if they have a small number of close friends. Social media has played a big role in making relationships nowadays. We have numerous amount of applications in which we can connect with anyone around the globe. With this development, it is widely observed that everyone is connecting less to people around them but more interested in having friends on these applications. Even though we have a big list of ' friends ' in our accounts, we still have less people who we can actually connect with in case of ups and downs of our lives. People are having more insecurities because of the social image their friends have created. This leads to more jealousy and less intimate relations, which is a cause of depression and anxiety. For instance, the suicidal rates have increased since past few years because teenagers feel lonely and cannot ask for help even when they usually have a big group of friends. Thus, it is clearly a negative development because these advancements have led to mental issues. In conclusion, with the social media advancements, making relationships are usually just one tap away, but when it comes to creating healthy relationships, it is a negative development because it leads to surface level friendships, and also are not very beneficial to mental wellbeing.