Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The matter of choosing the best option between train and vehicle for transportation, might seem to be difficult for the government at first as every individual has their own opinion based on their needs. But, I believe that trains have a greater potential in meeting everyone’s need. To begin with, there is also the environment and location which play a big role in defining the better method. For instance, in reigns with high mountain density, it is more expansive and demanding to dig out tunnels rather than just making a suitable base for the roads. Yet, under general environmental conditions, spending more on railways is more practical. Moreover, railroads are more flexible in terms of being able to perform several tasks at a time. For example, a train can carry a huge number of people along with serving the purpose of a cargo. In comparison, cars, trucks and buses only perform one of these tasks at a time. Also, none of them even come close to a train in terms of overall capacity. Although cars are perfect when it comes to mobility (as they are not fixed to certain stations), considering the factors like safety, time and money needed for roads maintenance, we realize that railroads are the great option for government to spend money on. In addition, lower costs of diesel fuel, translates to cheaper expenses if we choose to use railways. To sum up, while some people argue that roads are more worthy to be developed, I do not find myself on their side. This is because of the lower overall prices of railroads, the flexibility and the safety of them. So, I agree with the statement as long as we are not limited by the environment.