It has been more than 40 years since man first landed on the moon. Some people think that space research is a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rise of technology, space research is growing more than ever since humans first landed on the moon more than four decades ago. As such space research is costly, whether the research is a waste of mony or not has sparked much debate. From my point of view, I strongly agree with the perspective. I will explore two main reasons why it is not beneficial, emphasizing other priorities in the nations and limited opportunities in the space. The primary reason is that there is a great number of challenges in contemporary society that need to be addressed. The social services such as education and healthcare are still limited in many countries, and people are suffering to pay for schools and hospitals. Meanwhile, the budget secured for the space assessment is gigantic. For example, the amount of money put aside for the space development matter in Japanese government was over 400 billion yen in 2023. According to the Ministry of Education in Japan, however, this huge amount of money would enable free education if it was allocated in the education sector instead. Therefore, the governments' budget should be used to address other pressing issues in the nations. Furthermore, there are only few realistic opportunities in the space. According to many scientists, the possibility of existence of water or any human-friendly environments in the space is limited. For instance, humans have only found dust and rocks in the moon in the past 40 years. Consequently, the massive investment into the space assessment does not seem to bring anything beneficial to the nations and the citizens. To sum up, the space study not only wastes money that could be invested in other development matters, but also seems to have little potential for the humans' future. The evidence supporting the value of money spent for space matter, couples with limited discoveries on the space in recent years, indicates that the financial inputs in the space sector is a waste of money.