Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to the same and look the same. Do you agree or disagree ?

Many people argue that advertising has impacted every section of society and forced individuals to do the same and look the same which has resulted in destroying the individuality of a person. I agree with the given statement and my reasons will be explained below. People nowadays, are surrounded by advertisements. These are done through television, radio programs and newspapers. If a person sees a famous movie star in an ad promoting a specific product he will be tempted to buy that. Advertising is done in a way that we as a consumer cannot help but to look at it. They use catchy titles to attract customers. For example, if a popular actor is in an ad film in which he is encouraging to buy a skincare product people will want to do the same. This results in people being similar to one another. Moreover, these days people focus more on status symbol. Individuals have lost their uniqueness because everyone wears the same clothing brands and carries similar things to show off their wealth. People have lost their own sense of style and try to copy what is shown in advertisements. For instance, people want to buy Apple phones to show their status symbol in society. One pays more attention to fit in society rather than giving priority to his own happiness. This leads to people wearing the same clothes and using the same products. On the other hand, many people claim that advertisements do not influence our lives to a large extent. They believe, that people only purchase items which they can afford and really need. Also, they feel that individuals are different from one another and have not lost their identity. To conclude, although many people say that advertisements do not play a major role in our choices of lifestyle yet, I believe that celebrity endorsements and status symbols convince people to do the same which causes everyone to look the same.