Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertisements are long-term marketing tools for businesses, however, people nowadays tend to be more independent towards these advertising. This phenomenon has positive impacts on the public, which comes from the current style of education that focuses on more critical thinking and independence of the students. To begin, the current curriculum in schools and colleges emphasises critical thinking more than in the past, which affects young people's behaviours. One apparent example of increased critical thinking is there are emerging groups on social media platforms for reviewing products and services, in which members ask for a second opinion on goods they are interested in before they actually purchase. In addition, the current society focuses on the equality of individuals, so the youngsters have more confidence in their own opinions. Therefore, they would consider things more thoroughly, which results in not being hostile to advertisements and promotions. Consequently, the shift in consumer' behaviours is a good improvement for the public, as businesses need to be more truthful and not rely on heavily distorted advertisements. For example, with a new trend of buying products based on reviews, truthful reviews potentially have more effect on the customers' decisions than what the companies want to present in sponsored advertisements. In conclusion, the changes in less influence of the advertisements are good development for the consumers, which is rooted in the revised education system that improves critical thinking and freedom of opinions of the new generations. These changes impact how goods are sold, with less overly claimed descriptions, customers are likely to get good products at reasonable prices.